My Books

The Girl Who Wasn’t There

 

School Library Journal said: “A great, fast-paced thriller for younger teens.”

Girl in the Window has won the Lambeth Phoenix Book Award 2020 and the NE Book Award 2019! It has also been shortlisted for the Girls Day School Trust Book Award 2020.

‘an excellent mix of mystery and “day in the life” contemporary that had me hooked’ Janine – Goodreads

Read more Goodreads reviews here

Things the Eye Can’t See

Libby loves going out with her guide dog Samson and taking photos – but she sometimes wishes she could be more independent. The day that a boy gives her a secret note changes everything. No one thinks there is anything to worry about, but the boy is in danger. And Libby is the only person who can solve the mystery.

Libby is blind and the author’s conscientious research pays off. The result is a credible protagonist and a wealth of convincing yet unforced insights into visual impairment.’ Book Trust

Top 10 Things to Know About Visual Impairment by Penny Joelson

I Have No Secrets

    I have no secrets by Penny Joelson YA Fiction   

My YA novel ‘I Have No Secrets’  Published by Egmont (eLEctric Monkey Imprint May 2017) and Source Books Fire NoVEMBER 2019

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can’t tell anyone. 

Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of Wonder, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ. (Egmont)

Quietly suspenseful, vividly character-driven, and poignant, with insights into cerebral palsy and the multiple meanings of “family.”  Kirkus

Pre-order from Amazon.com

Order Now from Hive.

Order now from Amazon.co.uk

‘I Have No Secrets’  was Carnegie Nominated and has won ten awards: the 2018 FCBG Children’s Book Award for older readers, Leeds Book Award, Sussex ABA Award, Worcestershire Teen Book Award, Cumbria Book Award, Bolton Book Award, Bristol Book Award, St Helens Book Award and the Girls’ Day School Trust Book Award.

Reviewed in The Guardian 23rd December 2017

a compelling thriller and a warm, lively portrait of unusual family life.’

Irish Independent: ‘an absolute page-turner that I simply could not put down.’

You can already more reviews on GoodReads.

This was a terrific read‘ Liz Barnsley

‘I Have No Secrets is one of the most delightful surprises I’ve read in recent memory.’ Amy

‘A gripping thriller and a sensitive, empathic look at life from a different perspective, this is a real page-turner that makes you think.’ Karina